Introducing me....

Sailor_Witch

Experienced
Hello all,

I am Popeye, the Sailor_Witch. I have been an avid reader for a number of years now and have decided to do what I can to help with editing. The bonus for me is that I get to read the new stories first-YEA!

I signed up today as a volunteer editor, so you won't find me in the directory yet, but soon that should change.

I retired this spring from a 35 year medical career. I have worked in both front line, hands on medical care and medical administration/management. During this time, I have created and edited many documents. Some were my own documents and others were not. Editing and proofreading one's own document is always the biggest challenge.

I am not an expert by anyone's standard, (except maybe in my own delusions-lol) but I do have a pretty fair command of the written language. English, that is. My parents were school teachers. My father beat science into my head to the point that I took only the minimum of sciences in school and filled the empty slots with English courses.

I love finding the typos in any document. I have a pic saved from the local want ads of a person who was building a "peri-anal" flower garden. I love that pic.

I'm sure that it will be no surprise to anyone here when I say that after looking at the directory/list of VE's it would be difficult to select someone. Many haven't updated their profiles in a few years. That doesn't mean that they are't available, yet it does make one wonder.

I had to chuckle when I saw the number of VE ads with numerous errors in their introductions...

If you (like one that I saw) write 4 sentences and every one of them has an error in it, (one sentence had four errors) how am I supposed to believe that you would be a good choice for editing my work?

We all understand that a keyboard typo is going to slip in once in a while, but really...