Getting Started

Hey everyone!

I've had an account for a minute and have been meaning to write for a while, but haven't gotten around to it yet, whether because of regular procrastination or because I've no experience writing erotica. So, I'm making this post to ask more experienced literotica writers for your advice getting started. Any/all advice would be a huge help, I hope to hear from you!

Edit: I'm also not very familiar with the forums yet: if this isn't the right place to post this please let me know and I'd be happy to delete/repost elsewhere.

AH is just the right place for your inquiry. You want advice? Read LIT categories you want to write for. See what works there. Tailor your writing to go with the flow, or disrupt it. Decide *WHY* you write. For your own amusement? For exercise? To pander to readers to gain views and brownie points? To piss off creeps?

Basic advice: Write. Write more. Post some. See if reactions do anything for you. Write more. Keep going. Failure here does not translate to the real world, so do what you want.

Write a story, submit a story, agonize over what the hell the scoring system means, ask why people don't comment much, and what's a View anyway? Then ask why some commenters carry on as if your fictional story was real, learn all about the grammar police and the category tribes. Do it a dozen times or so, and you'll be an expert, just like the rest of us.

Key thing, though, is the writing bit. Futzing about here at Author's Hangout is just another form of procrastination, but don't worry, we all do that too. Welcome aboard :).

Take some multivitamins to grow some really thick skin, then post in Loving Wives.
Just for fun, even if you aren't interested in the genre, open a few stories to look at the comments alone, skipping the writing (if you want). Some commenters are asshats, and you will get evil comments if you allow them, regardless of genre.