Male author, female first-person main character.

Carnevil9

King of Jesters.
I'm a male author, and I am trying to write a story with a female protagonist, but from the first person perspective. For one reason, I've never done this, so it is a way to stretch, but more importantly, the nature of the story seems to make this the way to go.

However, I'm finding it difficult to get into "the voice." Not being a female, I'm not exactly sure if I am relating things in a believable fashion. Any advice? Anyone had this problem and conquered it? Thanks for any tips!........Carney

Read some stories that appear to be first person by female authors. What other advice do you think is possible?

I'm a male author, and I am trying to write a story with a female protagonist, but from the first person perspective. For one reason, I've never done this, so it is a way to stretch, but more importantly, the nature of the story seems to make this the way to go.

However, I'm finding it difficult to get into "the voice." Not being a female, I'm not exactly sure if I am relating things in a believable fashion. Any advice? Anyone had this problem and conquered it? Thanks for any tips!........Carney

I don't know about "conquered", but I did try it and... Well, it mostly went all right. At least, those attempts mostly scored well. (And I got a few PMs that made me rock back in my chair and scratch my hairy belly and laugh.)

I guess the most important thing is to figure out if you want your feminine voice to be an over the top male fantasy that will have women rolling their eyes or if you want to try to seem real.

I think I remember reading somewhere about an algorithm that could predict whether the writer was male or female. Have you tried goggling "differences between masculine and feminine writing" or some variation?

Good work trying something new!

The thing that most often triggers my "this was written by a guy" reflex is male gaze-y writing.