Any actual editors here?

Karenas

Really Experienced
I have contacted over a half dozen volunteer editors (and I completely understand the" volunteer" part), the majority of whom are "available this month." I've not received any responses. Not even a "Sorry, too busy."

I'm a good writer--I'm not asking someone to slog through word spaghetti. I'm asking for someone to catch my typos, remove commas, and help me in a more literary rather than grammatical sense. Maybe more of a beta reader than an editor?

Am I asking too much? Am I not using the write code words? I'm extremely frustrated. I love to write and I want to be the best writer I can be--but I need an editor to make that happen.

Any advice?

Adding the word count and genre here might help. Someone might have time for a 5,000 word story, for example, but not be able to do 25,000 words.

;)

So far, my stories are running around 4-8 thousand words. The Halloween contest story might run more like 10 or 12. I haven't finished it yet.

So far, my stories are running around 4-8 thousand words. The Halloween contest story might run more like 10 or 12. I haven't finished it yet.

I can do a short one this week. PM me if you're interested.

Short, on word thats a few pages. Literotica makes our work seem so miniscule. When looking for an editor look for the ones with newer dates.

I second your :confused:, ML. I'm guessing he means people who signed up for VE more recently under the theory that they might still be active.

That could be, PF.

I was thinking of current posters with older dates.

At least one of the the ones I contacted was from the September list.

Anyway, I have had two pm's volunteering their time and that is wonderful! I thank them and you, MistressLynn, for the chance to work with them/you.