Learning and Teaching New (non-sexual) Things in a D/s Relationship

seela

Quark Thief
If there's one thing I truly love, it is to learn and be exposed to all kinds of new things that challenge my thinking and broaden my horizons.

I have some experience of D/s dynamics, where I've been asked to read certain books or learn about certain topics so that I can provide a sounding board for the PYLs thoughts. I've also been asked to teach something to the PYL that I was pretty good at and they wanted to learn.

Once I was asked to study philosophy, because the guy I was involved with firmly believed that everybody would benefit from knowing more about philosophy. I read a lot and got really into the topic. We had several wonderful discussions and I learned so much from the experience and him. Even though the relationship is long gone, I still reap the rewards from the little task he gave me. And somehow I think he'd be totally thrilled if he knew he had such a long-lasting impact on me.

I've also been asked to read the PYLs favorite books. I found this incredibly interesting, because not only did I get to read books, but I also got a pretty good climpse into their head through the discussion that followed.

The learning or teaching can be something very tangible, too. There are times I've learned a specific skill, such as making their coffee just right. Or folding the laundry the way they prefer it.

I love to learn and I always feel great when I finally see I can keep up in a conversation and not feel lost or get that luscious crema on top of the espresso. I think I've benefitted a lot as a person from all those times I've been given a task to learn something, even if at the time it felt pointless. If nothing else, I've become more patient and a lot better researcher through it.